Hyderabad will host the third leg of the third edition of the Coca-Cola International Premier Tennis League (IPTL) at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium here from December 9 to 11, according to Telanga IT Minister K.T. Rama Rao. The final is slated to be played on December 11.

Mahesh Bhupathi, the founder and promoter of IPTL, said some of the best tennis players in the world would be coming to Hyderabad for the event.

“Personally, I am very excited to come here. Obviously, an event of this magnitude, we have team (Indian Aces) owners they were looking at various options across the country after they decided, we want to move from Delhi. They explored Kolkata, they explored Mumbai, they explored Ahmedabad and they even explored Bangalore,” Bhupathi told reporters.

“But, it was a very recent decision. I was fortunate enough to come and meet the minister (Telangana IT Minister KT Rama Rao). In 48 hours, we got all the support we needed and, with infrastructure as well, to be able to host (the event) here,” he added.

Rama Rao, who is also the State tennis association president, said he had invited Bhupathi to conduct the event in Hyderabad when he met him.

“We take pride in hosting this mega tennis event featuring some of the top 30 players,” the IT minister said.

India’s first Grand Slam winner Bhupati aid all four IPTL teams would be playing at the Gachibowli stadium on December 9 and 10, followed by the IPTL finals on December 11. The first two legs will be in Tokyo and Singapore before returning in Hyderabad.

“One of the Big Four is definitely coming. We did not want to reveal all our cards today. We will announce the name in the next 48 hours,” Bhupathi told PTI, also confirming that a few big names will be missed.

“All the players we had last year are back. We had a long list of players who wanted to come but unfortunately could not come because there were no spots. Everything is good,” he added.

Following is the team composition for the third season of the IPTL, according to the release.

Japan Warriors: Kei Nishikori, Fernando Verdasco, Kurumi Nara, Jelena Jankovic, Fernando Gonzalez, Marat Safin and Jean-Julien Rojer.

UAE Royals: Tomas Berdych, Pablo Cuevas, Ana Ivanovic, Thomas Johansson and Daniel Nestor.

Singapore Slammers: Serena Williams, Nick Kyrgios, Marcos Baghdatis, Kiki Bertens, Carlos Moya and Marcelo Melo.

Indian Aces: Feliciano Lopez, Ivan Dodig, Eugenie Bouchard, Thomas Enqvist, Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna.

Article by: TenSports

Leave a Reply